S C M O
Advertise Your Product at SCMO
S C M O
The Offshore Angler's Online Home ©
Ask The Experts
MarlinNut Forums  

Go Back   MarlinNut Forums > The Forums > Ask The Experts

Ask The Experts Your chance to get the straight dope from some of our sport's best.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2014, 05:23 AM

Norto is on a distinguished road
Default "Go To" marlin lures

I'm an Orange County Marlin newbie who wants to start marlin fishing this year. I've trolled for tuna and paddy fished for years, but only casually dragged some marlin lures on the way home. It sounds like this is going to be as good a year as any to try for Striped Marlin. Can you guys give me a good idea of 6 favorite lures? I have a 38' bertram and 4 Zuker 1, 2 and 3.5 lures in dorado, MJG, purple black, and blue/white. Any suggestions to complete a good spread? Thanks!
Old 08-18-2014, 05:02 PM

SCMO Expert
David Brackmann is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: "Go To" marlin lures

Norto:

You have a good selection of Zuckers to start. Hard to beat a Zucker 3.5 is black and purple, black and green (MJG) and dorado color, but your blue and shite will catch or just change the skits out. Others I like are Black Bart's Mini 1656 angle nose plunger (short and long corner), Bad Guy for a long rigger lure and a Cabo Prowler as your short rigger bait. If you want to put a long center rigger bait out a Costa Rican Plunger works well. Moldcraft junior wide range are also productive striper lures especially in purple / silver / black or black over green. Pro Soft Lures' "Coasters" (straight runner) in their cyclone, black jack and thunder colors catch a lot of fish for me. The soft head gives with water pressure giving the lure a great subtle action in the water.