S C M O
Advertise Your Product at SCMO
S C M O
The Offshore Angler's Online Home ©
Ask The Experts
MarlinNut Forums  

Go Back   MarlinNut Forums > The Forums > Ask The Experts

Ask The Experts Your chance to get the straight dope from some of our sport's best.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2014, 04:39 PM

Tripleplay is on a distinguished road
Default Hook up to land ratio?

Hello,

New to the board. I've been fishing Marlin locally since 2006. After some great advise from Mr. Lassley, my son and I starting catching Marlin on a more regular basis. This week we fished three days and had 10 solid hookups and landed only two fish! It was very discouraging as the fish would fall off after an intial run. They would usually spit the jig while jumping. Although we have lost our fair share of fish over the years, we have never had such a poor ratio. My normal selection is; one or two Coggins peanuts, a small Joe Yee plunger, a MM Baby Ruckus, a mini 1656, and an EAL in tight. The lures are rigged with either a single Jobu or 7761. The leader is either 150 or 200lb.
Does this seem like a high loss ratio? Is there any techniques that help the fish stayed pinned? We haven't experienced this issue in the past, and as you can expect, it is very frustrating! Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Erik on the Triple Play.

Last edited by Tripleplay; 10-06-2014 at 04:57 PM.
Old 10-06-2014, 05:10 PM
Benevolent Dictator

MarlinNut is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to MarlinNut
Default Re: Hook up to land ratio?

Your description doesn't sound significantly different that the way I rig, so I doubt that's the issue. To me, there is nothing as scary as when a hot striped marlin starts greyhounding across the horizon - you are really at their mercy, and I've lost a lot of them during that phase.